Awards Hall of Fame

Congratulations to the 2017 Award Winners!
Outstanding Leader - Steve Gumm, Barren County
Steve GummSteve Gumm came to Barren County Schools in August 1998 from working in industry where he was an IT Manager for a local computer company.  Steve graduated from the University of Kentucky with a degree in Communications and later went on to become a Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer while obtaining many other industry certifications.  When Steve came to Barren County Schools there was only one machine per building connected to the Internet via a dial up connection.  Fast-forward to 2017 and Barren now has one of the most robust networks and wireless infrastructures in the state.  Steve brought his philosophy into the classrooms that technology should be as reliable the light switches in the room.  Steve often says “Technology is what we do, People are why we are here.”
Outstanding Teacher - Christopher Godby, Russell County
Christopher GodbeyChris Godby has taught social studies at Russell County High School for 22 of his 23 years in education.  From the beginning of his career he has shared his passion for instructional technology through helping other teachers and students discover new and exciting ways to learn in the digital age.  As School Technology Coordinator for RCHS since 1999, he has conducted numerous tech trainings for his district.  Despite his long career, he is always seeking to learn new things and share them with others.  As a school leader, he has served on the site-based council for almost 10 years.  Outside of school, he has been the communications director at his church since 2004.  He is also chairman and webmaster of the Central Ky Tennis Series.  He has developed and maintained several educational and small-business web sites over the years.

In 2015 he received the Excellence in Teaching Award from Campbellsville University, and in 2016 he achieved the title of Apple Teacher.  His media students have won multiple awards since 2000 for their school newscasts.  Chris lives in Russell Springs with his wife Laura, son Carson (7), and daughter Calli (6).  He is on Twitter @mrgodby.

Outstanding Tech Support - Andrew Hobbs, Bullitt County
Andrew Hobbs

Andrew Hobbs (Andy as he is known to his friends) started his career in Education Technology with Bullitt County Public Schools in January of 2000.  The son of 2 educators, his entire immediate family is in education, his sister an Elementary Librarian and his wife a Middle School Art Educator.  Andy is a product of the Bullitt County School system, graduating from Bullitt East High School in 1998.  He volunteered in the technology department for 2 years before being hired as a Computer Technician in 2000. In 2007 he was promoted to Network Engineer for the district where he is tasked with design and maintenance of networks in 27 locations, management of the datacenter and application development for the district.  Andy loves solving problems and faces challenges head on.

Andy met his wife, Angela, in 2002 and they were married in September of 2007. They live in Mt. Washington with their 2 sons, Henry and Max.  As an Eagle Scout Andy enjoys the outdoors.  He is a long time woodworker, a love that was instilled in him from an early age by his late father Kenny.
Making IT Happen - Gary Grant, KySTE Executive Director
Gary Grant
Gary Grant began his teaching career in 1974 in Camden, Ohio after serving as an officer in the US Air Force during the Vietnam War. He taught middle school math. He and his family moved to St. Petersburg, FL in 1980 where he again taught middle school math. In 1981 Grant left teaching to begin a career as a computer programmer in banking. He and his family moved to Kentucky in 1990 where he returned to teaching middle school in Meade County School District. Grant taught middle school math, science, and reading. While at Meade County he became very involved with STLP. Grant’s first student showcase project was a gifted class that he taught. The class was a collaboration of Gifted and Functionally Disabled students. Grant’s involvement in STLP continued to grow. In 2007 he received the STLP Ambassador Award and in 2013 he was honored with the Lydia Wells Sledge STLP MVP Award. Grant retired from Meade County Schools in 2008. In December, 2009 he was hired as Executive Director of KySTE. As Executive Director he helped co-ordinate the Spring KySTE Conference from 2010-2017. Grant received the ISTE ‘Making IT Happen’ Award at KySTE 2017 Conference. Mr. Grant will retire as Executive Director, June 30, 2017.
Hall of Fame
Year Outstanding Leader Outstanding Teacher Outstanding Tech Support* Making IT Happen
2017 Steve Gumm Christopher Godby Andrew Hobbs Gary Grant
2016 Terri Cox Cruey Heidi Neltner Dave Carty Marty Park
2015 Leanna Prater Tina Record Jason Reis Dave Sigler
2014 Jana Hickey  Randy Barrette Zachary Dean  Terri Stice
2013 Lisa Bishop Simmons  Angela Cunningham Andrew Conyers  Chuck Austin
2012 Bob Fortney Paula Boggs Russ Cole Charlotte Chowning
2011 Naomi Cornette Michelle Lee Dan Klaber Kim Duvall/David Couch
2010 Michele Crowley Jackie Revlett Larry Jesse  
2009 Pat Stewart Kay Bush  NA  Elaine Harrison Lane
2008 Brenda Nix Niki Locklear  NA NA
2007 David Couch    NA  NA
2006 Greg Drake Mitzi Shields  NA  NA
2005  Leslie Flanders Patricia Coomer  NA  NA
2004 Charlotte Chowning    NA  NA
2003 Nikkol Bauer    NA  NA
2002 Lydia Wells Sledge    NA  NA

*New in 2010
**Know any of our missing content?  Please email any Board member and let us know so we can fill it in!